Pleasing man vs Pleasing God

For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men? For if I still pleased men, I would not be a bondservant of Christ. (Galatians 1:10)

As a bondservant of Christ we do everything through Christ. Direct action to please people outside of Christ are actions outside the will of God.

Here is the truth table regarding actions from this perspective:

  • I please man, I please God
  • I do not please man, I please God.
  • I please man, I do not please God.
  • I do not please man, I do not please God.

The actions that count in Christ,  that actions that benefit all that are affected by our actions (ourselves, God, others, the environment) are the ones where God is pleased. God is to be pleased whether or not man is pleased.

It takes courage, faith, and trust in God to please him when it does not please man.

Whenever I am afraid,
       I will trust in You.
 In God (I will praise His word),
       In God I have put my trust;
       I will not fear.
       What can flesh do to me? (Psalm 56:3-4)

We look for situations where we can please both God and man. God in his infinite wisdom and for the benefit of others will put us in situations that are unpleasant for others for His will to be executed in their lives.

About oniamai

Steward of the Path Oniamai
This entry was posted in Basics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

