The Divided Heart

This is truly a dangerous place to be. The solution is singular: YOU MUST HEAR FROM GOD!

Why yell?

Because Jesus said a house divided against itself will fall (Matthew 12:25)

I equate the divided heart in its most serious state with double-mindedness. I”m not talking about not knowing whether to go to a restaurant or to the movies. I am talking about deep commitments that reflect what we are to be doing in Christ. One example would involve the time vs. money debate. I can get the money if I work, but then I don’t have time for the people I love. If I have time for the people I love, I may not have the money to enjoy the time with them. Now, I am not getting into the either/or both/and argument. There are almost always tradeoffs that need to be made with regard to how we utilize the resources we have (time, treasure, talent is one framework for our resources).

The divided heart is about the one divided. It is NOT about the fact that there are tradeoffs. It is about the person who is unable to reconcile the tradeoffs in relationship with God.

If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him. But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed. For let not that man think that he shall receive any thing of the Lord. A double minded man is unstable in all his ways. (James 1:5-9)

The divided heart wavers between options. It does not commit. God does not like lack of commitment.

James offers an antidote for the situation:

Purify your hearts, ye double minded (James 4:8)

We now see a relationship between impurity and division which contributes to instability.  The divided house falling, in the context of the believer implies that they are missing the best that God has to offer and are suffering needless pain.

Purify your heart…Keep your heart pure…The heart you have been given by God is pure…

About oniamai

Steward of the Path Oniamai
This entry was posted in Basics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment